
SWEET HOME POLICE DEPARTMENT PUBLIC RECORD REQUEST FORM 

Public Record Requests take a minimum of twenty-four (24) hours and may take up to 7-14 days dependent upon whether or not a record review or 
record release is required by the Sweet Home Police Department, District Attorney’s Office, City Attorney’s Office, or Juvenile Department. Requests 
for discovery should be submitted to the respective court. Requests that do not require a review or release are generally releasable within twenty-
four (24) hours.  

 

Requests for child abuse reports that have been referred to the Department of Human 
Services (DHS) are not releasable by the Sweet Home Police Department (ORS 419B.035). 

Please see definitions for child abuse on the back of this form (ORS 419B.005). 
 

Under Oregon Public Records law,  
CASES STILL UNDER INVESTIGATION OR CRIMINAL ARRESTS PENDING COURT HEARINGS ARE NOT RELEASABLE. 

 
Type of Public Record Requested: 

 Police Report 
 CD of Photos 
 Person Overview (one form per person) 
 Letter of Clearance (one form per person) 

 Address Overview (one form per address) 
 Traffic Cite 
 Other       

  

 

Today’s Date Email Address 

Requestor’s Name Phone Number 

Address – Please ensure you provide a complete & current address in the event we need to issue a refund 

City State Zip 

CASE INFORMATION 
Date & Time of Incident Case Number(s) 

Type of Incident Incident Location 

Involved Person(s) 
 

Self Other (Provide Names) 
Relationship of Requestor to Person’s Named in Report 

 
Self Other (Describe Relationship) 

Signature of Requestor Date 

I agree not to use, share or disseminate any information pertaining to the record other than for lawful purposes. I understand that I am responsible for all processing fees once 
the record is requested, unless the record is deemed not releasable. Upon notification that said copied record is available, the Sweet Home Police Department shall only maintain 
the copied record for 7 business days. I understand that failure to pick up requested records within seven (7) days of being noticed of records availability will result in forfeiture 
of any monies previously paid for this request, and that future requests will require an additional pre-payment of a minimum of ten (10) dollars. 

 

For Records Use Only 
Date Report Request Received: Received by: Date reviewed: Person Reviewing: 

Date/Time requestor notified of status:  Notified by:  Notes (left voicemail, spoke to person, sent email etc.): 

   Calculated Fee’s:    Fees Paid:       Y         N 
   Receipt #: 

   Date Released:                                           Released By: 

Police Department 
Mail 1950 Main St, Sweet Home, Oregon 97386 Phone 541.367.5181 Fax 541.367.5235 

Web www.sweeethomeor.gov    Email records@sweethomeor.gov 



Definition of Child Abuse as Defined by ORS 419B.005: 
 

A) Any assault as defined in ORS chapter 163 of a child and any physical injury to a child, which has been 
caused by other than accidental means, including any injury which appears to be at variance with the 
explanation given to the injury. 

B) Any mental injury to a child, which shall include only observable and substantial cruelty to the child, 
with due regard to the culture of the child. 

C) Rape of a child, which includes but is not limited to rape, sodomy, unlawful sexual penetration and 
incest, as those acts are defined in ORS chapter 163. 

D) Sexual abuse, as defined in ORS chapter 163. 
E) Sexual exploitation, including but not limited to: 

(i) Contributing to the sexual delinquency of a minor, as defined in ORS chapter 163, and any 
other conduct which allows employs, authorizes, permits, induces or encourages a child to 
engage in the performing for people to observe or the photographing, filming, tape 
recording or other exhibition which, in whole or in part, depicts sexual conduct or contact, 
as defined in ORS 167.002 or described in ORS 163.665 and including any conduct which is 
part of any investigation conducted pursuant to ORS 419B.020 or which is designed to serve 
education or other legitimate purposes; and 

(ii) Allowing, permitting, encouraging or hiring a child to engage in prostitution, as defined in 
ORS chapter 167. 

F) Negligent treatment or maltreatment of a child, including but not limited to the failure to provide 
adequate food, clothing, shelter or medical care that is likely to endanger the health or welfare of the 
child. 

G) Threatened harm to a child, which means subjecting a child to a substantial risk of harm to the child’s 
health or welfare. 

H) Buying or selling a person under 18 years of age as described in ORS 163.537. 
 
 
Further questions with regard to child abuse cases should be referred to the Department of Human Services. 
In order to request any records that have been referred to DHS, visit Oregon DHS Public Records Request 
page at: https://www.oregon.gov/DHS/Pages/RecordRequests.aspx. 

 
 

CASE NOTES 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 



 
POLICE DEPARTMENT FEES 
The fee schedule was adopted by the Sweet Home City Council and is effective beginning February 10, 2021 
 
Reports and Recordings 
Research Fee per unknown case number $10.00 
Archived Reports prior to 2020 or reports requiring redaction of confidential information: Actual Staff Costs - 1 hour 
minimum Applicable reproduction cost 
Incident Reports (up to 25 pages) $10.00 
Additional pages $0.50 
Report postage minimum up to 10 pages $3.00 
Additional pages .10/each 
Evidence Recording (digital audio) 
Digital Audio $30.00 
Video (minimum up to 2 hours maximum) $50.00 
Each additional 2 hours $50.00 
Recording postage per CD/DVD $5.00 
Evidence Photographs 
Film converted to digital $50.00 
Photos per case CD/DVD or sent electronically $25.00 
Digital printed photos per sheet (max 4/sheet) $10.00 
Photograph Postage 
Postage per photo CD $5.00 
Postage min to 10 printed pages $5.00 
Per pages after 10 $0.10 
Record Checks 
Letters of Clearance (per individual) $15.00 
Location/Person overview per individual $10.00 
Postage for records checks minimum to 10 pages $2.00 
Per page after 10 $0.10 

 


